Fallacy in Our Everyday Statement

123dsdf55

I have been observing my friends and thinking about their everyday statement made have holes in them. What do I mean? Well, the statement that is presented have no valid reasoning and evidence to support it or simply false. I become aware when I learn about logical reasoning with myself this year to avoid pot holes in my daily life and prevent myself from bad information that people output. It’s true if you are not careful and believe what people said to you will eventually get cheated.

Fallacy

  1. A false notion.
  2. A statement or an argument based on a false or invalid inference.
  3. Incorrectness of reasoning or belief; erroneousness.
  4. The quality of being deceptive.

From Answers.com

Just yesterday my Malay language teacher told us “The Jews are the smartest people on Earth” <— this is a fallacy and it’s categorize as “Hasty Generalization“. If Jews are smart they are still minority who are not. How much? I don’t know but from my viewpoint everyone have a certain level of IQ and EQ and not everyone have the same level.

Please people if you want to state something or reason with something at least you must have sufficient evidence to support it.

Armed with a logical reasoning skill although I’m still learning I think I’m able to avoid fallacy nicely in my everyday life. How about you? If you are interested to learn more I suggest you to look into this site for more as it teaches you how to look out for fallacy in any statement or argument http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/ this is especially good in debate.

4 thoughts on “Fallacy in Our Everyday Statement

  1. As much as I’d like to say Asians kick ass, it’s really the Jews who are really smart. Their tiny population has 180+ Nobel Prizes between them. Whether this is genetic, class-based, or the self-fulfilling prophecy of confident people (Chosen Ones), I don’t know. I can’t deconstruct the observation that far.

    I only know that there’s something there.

  2. err… They worked out really really hard to get that smart u know. Their time management is excellent, they never waste anytime. And they are dead serious about education.

    but well…. too smart people are little so yeah… they are a small community.

    if Asian had something like renaissance, we could have been more advanced than the west. Time wasted on internal war… like ancient China. =.=

  3. No, I don’t know if they are really that smart because from what I know is little and I can’t make any conclusion yet unless I have enough information and not those hearsay knowledge.

    I do agree with your last notion such as “those internal war within ancient China”

Leave a Reply

